2017 WMR Design Awards Overview
Share |




2017 Western Mountain Region Conference and WMR Design Awards Program

Hosted by AIA Las Vegas, October 11-14, 2017, Historic Fifth Street School, Las Vegas, Nevada



The AIA Western Mountain Region Design Awards program recognizes excellence in design, planning and construction of projects located anywhere in the world that are designed by AIA architects registered and licensed in the Western Mountain Region.  Entries from multi-office firms are limited to work designed in the office located in any one of the six states in the Western Mountain Region:  Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, Nevada, Utah and Wyoming.


The intent of the design awards program is to honor the highest standards of design in response to user requirements, site, context, climate and environment.  Each entry, regardless of size or classification, is judged individually on the basis of total design merit.


The AIA Western Mountain Region Design Awards recognize achievements for a broad range of projects and in meant to elevate the conversation regarding ecxellent design in our six-state region.



Projects may be "Built" or "Unbuilt".  Any work of architecture completed since January 1, 2012, regardless of location, may be entered with the stipulation that the architecture was directed and substantially executed by design professionals and/or firms that are current members of good standing of the AIA Western Mountain Region.  Only the “firm-of-record” or in its absence, the “architect of record” may submit entries for this competition.  When the architect is not the sole author, all other participants substantially contributing to the design of the project must be given credit.


Unbuilt projects must be commissioned work with a completion date - including competition entries - and must clearly state the entity administering the completion or commissioning of the work.


Projects that have previously wond AIA Western Mountain Region awards in the "Built" category are not eligible for re-entry.  Projects that have previously won an award in the "Unbuilt" category may resubmit in the "Built" category once that project has been built and completed.



By submitting your project you agree to the following:

  • All entrants grant to the AIA Las Vegas Chapter and the AIA Western Mountain Region (WMR) a non-exclusive license to use my copyrighted work, including any text, brochures, drawings, photographs, graphics, plans, slides, books, transparencies or other copyrightable material, (the “Work”) submitted in connection with the 2017 AIA WMR Design Awards.
  • This license shall permit limited rights to use, reproduce, crop or resize, publicly display, distribute and transmit worldwide the “Work” during the full term of the copyright in all media, now known or hereafter devised, including the internet, without payment of any royalty or license fee.
  • Entrants represent that they have obtained all permissions that are necessary to gran limited rights to the “Work”. This permission shall not infringe or violate any other person’s copyrights.
  • Entrants agree to indemnify and hold harmless AIA Las Vegas and the AIA Western Mountain Region from and against all claims or damages arising out of any breach of these representations.  AIA Las Vegas and the AIA Western Mountain Region agrees to indemnify entrants and hold them harmless from and against all claims or damages arising out of its use of the “Work”.


Distinguished Building Awards – Recognizes significant achievements in the planning, design and execution of recent built projects.


Unbuilt Design Awards – Recognizes achievement in architectural design for commissioned projects that may or may not be built.  Student projects and non-building work such as industrial or graphic design may not be submitted.  Projects must have been commissioned by a client and may include competition entries, urban design schemes, and similar work.



All photography submitted for publicity purposes must be free of restrictions.



·         Distinguished Building Award        $200.00 each

·         Unbuilt Design Award                     $200.00 each


Entry fees are non-refundable. No exceptions. Payment is due when projects are entered.



The type and number of awards given will be determined by the jury and may include Honor, Merit and/or Citation. Award winners will be announced and will receive certificates during the AIA Western Mountain Region 2017 Design Awards Presentation ceremony on Saturday, October 14, 2017 being held at the Worldview on Sixteen Room, atop the World Market Center, 475 S. Grand Central Parkway, Las Vegas, Nevada, 89106.  Award recipients will be featured throughout 2017 on the AIA Western Mountain Region website, www.aiawmr.org.  In recognition of the vital part they play in the creation of these projects, the owners, and all members of the design team are invited to attend the awards presentation. If you are submitting a project, please contact the owners and members of the design team and invite them to attend the Awards Gala as well.



June 30, 2017                       Call for Entries

August 16, 2017                   Entry Forms and Fees Due

September 6, 2017               Submittals Due

September 18, 2017             Jury

October 13, 2017                 WMR Awards Gala



If you submit a project, the following applies for entrants and jurors within each individual program.

  • Any project that credits any 2017 jury member or his or her firm as architect, associate architect, consultant or client is ineligible and will be disqualified if submitted.
  • Communication with any jury member by the entrants is inappropriate and cause for disqualification.
  • All architects of award-winning projects will be required to verify that neither they nor any persons acting on their behalf had any type of communication with any 2017 jury member regarding a submittal project.
  • At the juror’s discretion, recognitions will be given for Honor, Merit and Citation levels.


Award recipients will be announced at the WMR Design and Honor Awards Celebration, to be held as part of the 2017 AIA WMR Conference in Las Vegas, Nevada on October 14, 2017.


The WMR Design & Honor Awards Celebration will be held at 6:00PM in the Worldview on Sixteen Room at the World Market Center, 475 S. Grand Central Parkway, Las Vegas, Nevada 89106.  Tickets are $130.00 per and reservations can be made online at www.aialasvegas.org or www.aianevada.org or www.aiawmr.org


Go to 2017 WMR Design Awards Landing Page


Go to WMR Design Awards Entry Requirements & Instructions


Go to 2017 WMR Design Awards Entry Form


Return to WMR Conference Registration Page

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal